Telangana region has been ruled by great dynasties such as Sathavahanas, Kakatiyas, Chalukyas, Mughals, Qutubshahis, Asafjahis. Kakathiyas contributions to architecture are considered most impressive while Sathavahanas ruled Telangana region for about 400 years right from the 2nd century B.C. to beyond the 2nd century A.D. Among Kakathiyas, Prataparudra, was a great ruler who ruled till A.D.1323

Jayashankar Bhupalpally  is linked with the dynasties of Great “Vishnukundins” and even prior to it also of the Buddhist and pre-Buddhist periods of indian History.During Eighth Century A.D. ,It was  under the rule of Yadava king of the Kakatiyas or Ganapatis making Warangal as Capital City.The Kakatiya line seems to have been in existence even earlier to the middle of 7th Century A.D.because the famous Chinese Pilgrim Hiuen-Tsang,mentions the name of the Kingdom of “Danakakitya” in the South.The family name Kakatiya is derived from the local appellation of the Goddess Durga(Kakati).

After the fall of Bahmani Kingdom, Jayashankar Bhupalpally fell to the “Qutub Shahis” of Golconda and thereafter it has came under the sway of Nizam’s dominions.

Name Years
Kakatiya Stage 1158- 1323
Bahmani Stage 1347- 1512
Qutub Shahi Stage 1512- 1687
Asif Jahi Stage 1724- 1948